top of page

Recent Posts

Archive

Tags

No tags yet.

Patriot's Pen Essay

The America I Believe In

The America I believe in is a country that prevails when it is at its’ worst. We have prevailed through many things such as 9/11, The thing about America is that you can’t define it with just one word. Freedom, passion, hope, acceptance, and revolutionary are the words that I would use to describe America, a miraculous land to start a new life, and create a divine experience.

During World War II my grandmother, Meiko, lived in Japan with the rest of her family. Bombs were being dropped on her when she was just a young girl. She survived along with her family, and grew up to meet a U. S. merchant marine, my grandfather. They eventually got married, and moved to a small town in Maine called York to start a family. This story is one of the many things that lets me know America is a magnificent land.

Most of all I am very grateful that I live in this country. I’m grateful that I can choose my own career, that I can go to college, and start a life with a family, that I have the freedom to make my own decisions, that I can choose my own religion. Some countries force children to wear the same uniforms, even outside of school. There are more serious matters that I am grateful for like only 12% of the world has access to clean drinking water, or that 795 million people in the world do not have enough food to lead a healthy life. Things like that are why I think America is one of the greatest countries in the entire world.

America has helped many people before. On January 1, 1892, Annie Moore, a teenager from County Cork, Ireland, was the first immigrant to arrive on Ellis Island. She spent two weeks traveling across the Atlantic Ocean with her two younger brothers. Annie later started a family in New York City. Since 2000, America accepts approximately 1,000,000 legal immigrants.

After seeing America’s history, and how we have helped others, grown stronger, and become one of the greatest countries in the world, I am so proud, to live in such an amazing place, and I wouldn’t want to live in or believe in any other country.


bottom of page